Running, Walking and Sitting Up

Sorry about going dark for so long!  I’ve been keeping pretty busy.  Since I last posted I have attended the Tuesday running class, run on my own on Friday and missed this Sunday’s class due to insomnia.  Insomnia is a bitch, isn’t it?  I did manage to get myself out to run the same distance that our training schedule had listed (4 miles) after napping away most of the day, and I got the handout for the day emailed to me, so I think it will be alright.

I’ve been trying the 30s/30s split consistently, both on my own and with the class and I like it. I feel like I can run and walk a little bit faster than I was with the other splits I tried.  I got the fancy Gymboss timer, which makes it a lot easier.  The only problem with it is that the buttons are all exposed so I can’t put it in my bag without it getting switched on.  I could take the batteries out, but I’d need to reprogram it every time, which would be annoying.  So if you’re looking for an interval timer, keep that in mind.

I’m also doing my cross training 3 times per week, including the 100 push ups plan.  I’m only on week 2 of that and doing kneeling push ups.  It’s a bit sad to realize how weak I’ve gotten, but I’m fixing it.  At some point, after I get through a few weeks of the kneeling push ups, I’ll start back from the beginning with the regular ones.  Additionally, I’ll be adding a new exercise to my routine periodically.  Currently I do the push ups, crunches, planks, weighted running arms (sort of like this, but with hand weights), and I’ve just added the beginner version of the superman.  As with everything that I do, I’m adding reps slowly so that I don’t get too sore.  It might make for slower progress, but it just works better for me, mentally.

I continue to feel better physically and mentally and feel happier about how I look as I go along.  There is a lot of self reinforcement going on here.  I run and it makes my body feel good, so that’s reinforcing.  I feel better over all, so that’s reinforcing.  I’m happier with what I see in the mirror, so that’s reinforcing.  It all just sort of creates a big positive feedback loop.  When I take a moment to wonder why it never really worked for me before, the only answer I can come up with is that I was always trying to do the things that other people told me I should be doing, instead of just finding the things that work for me.  So I suppose if anyone comes across this blog looking for my advice on how to get up off the couch and get started on some sort of exercise plan, I would say, find what feels right for you and go at your pace.  If you’re like me and you get discouraged by being sore, then set your goals accordingly.  If you are someone who feels that sense of accomplishment from working out to a pleasant level of soreness for you, then do that.  I think it’s about finding the right fit for your brain and your mental makeup.

My friends, the folks at Run Wild Missoula, the other users at Fitocracy and the people in my Galloway class are all extremely supportive and I’m very grateful to have them.  I’m also working on getting myself ready for the mental challenges that I know will occur when we really start building up our mileage. But I’m excited about it, too.  My biggest goal is still to have as much fun as I can while I take this journey.  The marathon is in 159 days and I still feel like I can do this.

4 thoughts on “Running, Walking and Sitting Up

Leave a Reply

