Sometimes I feel extra slow when I’m not

I have the day off of work today.  I decided to do my 40 minute training run and end at the grocery store to shop.  I plotted my course based on my time & distance from Tuesday (40 minutes/2.8 miles).  I set my turnaround alarm for 30 minutes, based on where I would be at that time & where I wanted to end up.

I felt as though I was going really slowly (for me) and feeling somewhat discouraged about that.  I was sure I’d be turning around after a much shorter distance than I planned, but my alarm didn’t go off and I kept on going.  Finally, as I approached my turnaround point I pulled my phone out of my pocket, thinking I must have screwed up my alarm and saw that I was actually two minutes ahead.

So there I was, approaching my planned turnaround spot early when my iPod decided to play Eye of the Tiger.  Great timing, iPod!   I decided at that point to continue until my alarm went off, rather than turning around at my planned spot.  In the end, I ran for 45 minutes instead of 40.  I think that’s probably okay, even though our training guide says we’re supposed to be doing 30 to 40 minutes on Tuesday and Thursday right now.

I’m still pleased with my 30s/30s interval.  I feel like I both run and walk faster than I did when I was trying out the 60s/60s or the 120s/60s.  This Sunday our class may try to get a Magic Mile done, so we can break out into proper pace groups, even though we don’t have one scheduled on our training plan until 2/26.  I think some people are getting antsy about getting themselves sorted in that way.  I, on the other hand, am concerned that I’ll end up in a group doing one of the splits I don’t want to do, like 30s run/45s walk.  And there’s every possibility that I’ll end up in a different pace group than my running buddy, even though we’re really comfortable together at the moment.

The other thing that I find interesting, mentally, is that when I look at our training plan, nothing really seems all that intimidating up to and including our first 10 miler on March 4th.  But our next long run after that, the 12.5 miler on March 18th worries me a little.  I don’t know why that would be, so I’m just trying to tell myself that by the time I get to it, it won’t be any big deal.  And if I can do that 12.5 then I’ll pretty much have the endurance to do the half marathon already in the bag.

I believe that I mentioned before that our training schedule is a slightly abbreviated version of this one listed on the Galloway site.  It’s really interesting to me that we don’t just continually add mileage every Sunday.  At first it’s every other Sunday, and then it becomes every third Sunday, except that our 26 miler is 4 weeks out from the Marathon itself.  But Jeff really seems to know how to turn average people into distance runners.  And not just people who can run far, but people who can run far and love it.

If you had told me at any time prior to November 30th, 2011 that I was going to even consider becoming a distance runner at the age of 38, I would have laughed in your face.  But here we are, 156 days out from the Missoula Marathon, and I’m still excited and committed.  Of course, I haven’t actually broken 6 miles yet, but I will on 2/19.

9 thoughts on “Sometimes I feel extra slow when I’m not

  1. Even though I don’t run anymore, I’m reading and enjoying your blog. You’re doing an excellent job both with the running and the blogging. Keep up the good work. 😀

  2. I’ve heard pacing is a hard thing to keep even… More or less your body is always giving you feedback that you feel great or that you feel tired, and that colors your perception of time passing and of distance moved…

    Nice surprise to discover you were faster when you thought you were slower!

    • It’s true. Now that our class is sorted, we have pace group leaders that are going to help us stay on pace. Interestingly, even though I’m in the 3rd pace group, we kept up with the 1st and fastest pace group for the first 2/3 of our run today. Then they ran off. I think maybe we were hurting their egos. 🙂

      • They are the group most likely to let their egos get ahead of them and hurt them. When our class leader was speaking today about the terrible toos, he was speaking most strongly to them. 🙂

      • Hope they listened up! I can see where that’d be a risk-group for that. Really, it is for everyone, but I can see where they’d need to pay special attention to managing that…

      • I hope they listened too! Not just because I want them all to succeed, but also because one of the people in that group is my friend & my ride and I don’t want him to hurt himself! Lol. But mostly I want them to succeed and meet their goals, just I want myself to.

Leave a Reply

