Running with a Group and Retiring Socks

Today was our 12.5 mile run.  In addition to the added distance, I was moved up a pace group to the 14 minute per mile group, who are run/walking at a 30 second/30 second split.

Miles 3 and 4 were especially hard for me today, and I felt that I might have to drop back to the 15 minute pace group.  I think the issue was insufficient sleep (I tossed and turned a bit), coupled with the fact that I started to get a blister on the ball of my left foot.  At first I thought (as you often hear runners doing) that I could just live with it.  Fortunately, some smarter part of my brain overrode me and I mentioned my blister out loud.  One of my pace group mates, Cindy, happened to have a wonderful product with her: Elastikon tape.  We stopped and applied two strips to cover the area well, and the pain diminished to nothing very quickly.  I’m glad we stopped when we did.  At this point, there isn’t even a visible blister there, though I can feel it.  It would be a lot worse right now if I’d run the remaining 8 miles on it.

So the pair of socks that I was wearing are being retired.  They’re good socks, but they’ve just stretched out too much so they aren’t doing their job.  Well fitting socks are very important for running.  They make all the difference in the world. But a tape like Elastikon is also a handy thing to have, for emergencies.

Between the blister and feeling a bit tired, I’m really glad I had a group to run with.  If I’d been out on my own, I don’t think I would have been able to make myself go 12.5 miles today.   But I made it and I feel pretty darned good, actually.  I can tell I’ll be a little sore, but I’m going to try to get up and walk around the house often today to keep from stiffening up too much.  I really think moving helps more than just about anything.

However, I do think perhaps I’m not quite ready for the 14 minute pace group.  I think my original idea of running with the 14s for our shorter runs, and the 15s when we add miles might be the way to go.  At least for the time being.

In two weeks we’ll be running our 15 mile long run.  That’s even longer than a half marathon.  For some reason, I find that mentally significant.

The marathon itself is in 111 days and I’m still feeling good about it.  I honestly cannot recommend the Galloway method strongly enough, for anybody who thinks running is beyond them, like I always did.

7 thoughts on “Running with a Group and Retiring Socks

  1. Now that’s truly a sign you’re getting ready.

    You need to replace running equipment, not because you’ve got runner’s gotta-getta-toy fever, but because you plain wore it out.

    Socks at that!

    Hope you keep having fun, and may you always last longer than your equipment…

  2. I’m training for a 10 mile race and will be beginning my long runs in a few weeks. I’ve added Elastikon tape to my list of must haves.
    Thanks and good luck!

    • If you start feeling a “hot spot” stop and put it on. I did, before the blister was visible and it worked great. Be aware that it is sticky on both sides, so it also sticks your sock to your foot, which I think is actually good. Taking your sock off after the run might hurt if you’re not careful, or don’t know that it’s all stuck together, though. 🙂

Leave a Reply

