Pockets and Lessons

One of the things that drives me nuts about ladies running gear is the frequency with which there are no secure pockets in them. It makes me cranky. I realize that fashion, and yes, even running fashion, is designed to make us as nice to look at as possible and pockets – if they are used – ruin the line of our figure. But you know what? I don’t care. I’m not out there running 4 miles or 17.5 miles so that I can look nice while I’m running! I want pockets. I want a place to put my cell phone, my keys, maybe even an ID and some cash or my debit card. I prefer that these be secure pockets that my belongings will not bounce out of as I run. These are not tall orders, and I shouldn’t have to wear my water belt on a short run, just to have a place to stash things.

As it happens, my newish running shorts (the black version of these) have two sets of pockets. The outer pockets are not what I would consider secure. I keep my lip balm in there but that’s about it.  The inner pockets are in the back, to the right and left of my spine, and are much more secure.  That’s where I stashed my phone and cash today. And that, was how I learned a lesson today. It was one of those lessons that you realize you should have thought of before, but didn’t. As it turns out, secure pocket or no, those inner pockets aren’t the best place for cash. When you have to hand over sweaty bills to the lady at the coffee shop after your run, you feel kind bad about that. Or at least I did.

I mentioned in my last post that our next long run is 20 miles.  As it turns out, we only have three more long runs before the marathon.  I can’t quite wrap my head around that fact.  On 4/29 we have 20 miles.  Then the following two Sundays are both 5 mile recovery runs, with a Magic Mile on 5/13.  Then our next long run is 23 miles on 5/20, followed by two 6 mile runs, including another Magic Mile.  Our last long run is a full 26 (and if I have to run around the block to get in my extra .2 I’m doing it) on June 21st.  We follow that with a 3 mile recovery run, two six milers and then it’s time for the Marathon on July 8th (76 days from now).  And I am very dedicated about running my short (3 – 4 miles) Tuesday/Thursday runs each week as well.

If you had told me a year ago that I’d be looking forward to running (run/walking) 20 miles, I would have considered calling the nice men in the white coats to determine whether you might be a danger to yourself or others.  It really is amazing how much my outlook has changed since I started this class.  And in all honesty, a lot of that has to do with discovering the Galloway run/walk/run method.  I honestly don’t think I would be doing this today if I had tried to just run.  I don’t think I would have enjoyed a couch to 5K program or anything like that.  Whether I’m running at a 30 second walk/ 45 second run split, or 30s/30s or even the 60s/60s back when I first started, the run walk splits really make all the difference to me.  They enable me to go much further than I could otherwise, and to feel great about it.

Also, since my little sprint last week that seemed to stretch out my IT Band, it hasn’t bothered me a bit. I could feel it after the run but that was it.  I haven’t felt it since, except when using my foam roller, which already is starting to hurt a lot less each time.

My plans for the coming week might include buying some new gear. Possibly shoes and some of the socks with toes in them, as I have a bit of a toe overlap issue on my right foot.  I also plan to attend a  runners self defense class that Run Wild Missoula is putting on.  It depresses me that such a class is needed, but it truly is.  I’d also like to get a new pic taken for my header image.  And yard work.  ‘Tis the season for yard work, and one of the advantages of the Galloway method of training is that many folks find it easier to be active after a long run.  Which is not to say that traditional runners can’t do stuff after a long run, but I know I couldn’t if I were doing traditional running.  At least not at this stage.

I’m also really excited to learn that some of my classmates are reading my blog!  That tickles me to no end.  And if any of y’all ever have anything to add about a run, or are having different experiences, please comment and let me know.  And if you have a blog, I’d love to have the link!  See you Sunday!

4 thoughts on “Pockets and Lessons

  1. I completely agree about the lack of decent pockets in women’s running gear. Is it really took much to ask for pockets so that we don’t lose things like keys, IDs, ipods, whatever?

    Side note: whenever I take cash on a run, I slip it into a snack sized ziploc bag–keeps the sweat out, and avoids that awkward moment when you have to hand your sweaty, gross money to a cashier who is even more grossed out than you are!

Leave a Reply

