14 Hot & Hard Miles

Boy the heat sure does make a difference. Today started out warm and just got warmer and that heat made it a bit harder for me to keep putting one foot in front of the other. I’m so glad I had such a great group of people to run with today, because they kept me going and kept my spirits up. If I had tried to run alone today, I think I would have had a miserable time.

The good news is, my feet didn’t swell during the run and haven’t swollen much yet either.  I wore my calf-compression sleeves and put them back on after a quick shower, in the hopes that they’ll help keep my feet from puffing up like they did after the 26 miler.

This is only the second double digit run that we’ve had in heat. Our 23 miler started cool, but got pretty warm by the end. I have to say, I really love people who leave their sprinklers out to water their lawns on days like this. In the past, I was always a bit irritated to see the waste of water that comes with watering on hot days, but I’ve officially changed my stance on that. Now, I get as excited as a giddy 5 year old when I see a sprinkler that I can run through. So thank you to all those folks who leave their sprinklers out on our running routes. You’re the best!

The other change I made today was to go straight to a local coffee & tea shop and get myself a chocolate creamsicle milkshake after our run. Many people swear by chocolate milk and/or chocolate milkshakes, and I’ve seen some suggestions lately that it’s best to get that first dose of protein and carbs in within 10 minutes of finishing your run. It’s supposed to promote muscle refueling, and since the Marathon is in 13 days and 15 hours, I thought now might be a good time to give it a try.

Finally, for a while now I’ve been meaning to link to a blog being written by one of my pace group members. Little Sister Sole at SisterSoleBlog is a really great person to run with and I always enjoy reading her blog. She’s very upbeat and very encouraging and I missed her on today’s run, since she is out of town. Please check out her blog.

No more long or medium runs before the big one. I’m as ready as I can be now!

Leave a Reply

