So You Ran a Marathon. Now What?

In the book Galloway Training Programs, Jeff Galloway recommends that we “Select another ‘mission’ before the big day.” In light of this, I decided some time ago that my 2013 goal race would be the Pengelly Double Dip. I think I may have made a bit of a mistake in picking a goal race so far in the future, so now I’m trying to focus on something not quite so far off. I believe that the Sweathouse Half Marathon might be just the goal I need. It is far enough in the future for me to relax and enjoy my summer a bit, but still give me motivation to stay in distance running shape.

Another thing that Jeff mentions, right on the same page of the book is the Post-Race Letdown. And yet, somehow I still wasn’t prepared for it. Last Tuesday it hit me hard. I had a very emotional day, and not in the good way. That afternoon Pam, our wonderful class leader, mentioned the letdown in an email to us. It’s always amazing to me how much of a difference it can make just to know you’re feeling emotional for a reason. That email helped me feel a lot better about feeling the letdown and helped me begin the process of refocusing on new goals and renewing my commitment to my original goals of weight-loss and improved health. I also plan to get back into the habit of doing some cross training. I was doing really well there for a while.

Right now though, the biggest struggle I’m having is figuring out when to get my runs in during the hot part of the summer. I don’t deal well with heat so mornings are best, but I work at 8am and don’t own a car so I haven’t quite figured out what my plan is going to be. Perhaps a “commute run” is in my future. However I manage to work it out, I want to keep my mileage up. I’m setting a target goal of 20+ miles per week for the time being.

In any event, I plan to keep run/walk/running and keep blogging. Going out with the Back of the Pack group that night in November is one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. And while I may feel at loose ends just now, I really do plan to keep right on running before I walk.

4 thoughts on “So You Ran a Marathon. Now What?

  1. I went through the same thing after my marathon & was grateful to meet others who were also experiencing it. 4 months later, I hadn’t shaken it. Thankfully, I am now back in running mode. I also use running as a commute because I don’t own a car either (have no desire too either). In the summer, though, commuting is hard (I work at 2 PM) so VERY early AM runs or extremely late runs are my thing. It sounds as if you have a solid plan though to get back into it. Good Luck!

    • Thank you! I hope my plan works out. It will be easier once it starts to cool off again. I’m much more of a cold-weather girl. 🙂

      It’s good to know I’m not the only one who doesn’t want a car. They’re a pain!

  2. I think there must be a physical component to the post-race letdown, maybe having to do with glycogen depletion. After a strenuous 18 mile trail run this past Sunday, I felt mopey and down all day Monday. It was more than just general fatigue, and I’ve encountered this before after 20 milers when training for a marathon. Thankfully, it passes, and I’m ready to run again after a little rest.

    • I’ve had the post run blues before, though keeping my B vitamin levels up seems to help. This was a bit different, but certainly related. I think it’s a combination of that and the loss of the goal making it worse. But yeah, it always passes and usually I find that a good nights rest and a good meal really do the trick. 🙂

Leave a Reply

