Sometimes it’s the Little Things

I’m sure I’ve mentioned that I’m setting a weekly mileage goal for myself of 20 or more miles per week. I’m planning for my longest run each week to be on Saturday. In that vein, yesterday I went to the Saturday Morning Breakfast Run thinking that I’d run 5 miles, which I had incorrectly assumed was the longest of the pre-planned routes. In order to get my miles in for the day I opted to run from home, to the Runner’s Edge and back again afterward.

Upon arriving, I found that one friend was planning to run the longest of the routes, which was in fact 8 miles, while the rest of my former class-mates seemed to be opting for a short 3 mile run which was too short for me. So off I went with my friend on the 8 mile route. The friend in question is faster than I am, so I had to speed up and he had to slow down a bit so we could stay together. Given that I’m not really sore today, I don’t think I went beyond my capabilities, so I’m sure it was actually good for me.  And I did opt to run home afterward, even though I’d gone on a longer run than originally planned. My total mileage for the day was 12.7 and I’m very happy with that.

I think that this will be my new Saturday routine, now. My house is about 2.5 miles from the meeting place (depending on which route I take), so I can easily combine the three legs of my journey into 12 to 13 miles of run/walking, even if I walk around downtown before I run home, as I did yesterday. Running to and from the group run seems like an easy way to tack on some extra mileage. Combine that with my plan of a 3 mile and a 5 mile commute run during the week and hitting my 20 mile goal will be easy! And I’ll stay in shape for any upcoming half marathons I decide to do.

I find that running in a group for my longer runs is really helpful. I think I’m mentally able to run considerably farther when I’m with other people. Hopefully I’ll continue to find people to run the 8 mile route with. It’s not the easiest route in the world. It has a pretty significant hill in the first half, which makes it even better from a fitness standpoint, but a little harder to talk myself into doing solo.

I plan to keep on blogging as well. I’ll keep you up to date on my goals and my running as well as anything new I learn.  I’m also putting together a post about things I wish I’d known from the beginning. Everyone will have different experiences, but perhaps some of what I’ve learned can help someone else have a slightly easier time.

I’ve got 47 days until the Sweathouse Half Marathon and I’m looking forward to it!

 

2 thoughts on “Sometimes it’s the Little Things

Leave a Reply

