Tips for New Runners – Toenails

This post is a part of my blog flash series, Tips for New Runners. It is based entirely on my own experiences as a new runner and may be missing a lot of information. This series is intended to help my readers find what works for them by sharing what worked or didn’t work for me.

This will probably the shortest post in the entire Tips for New Runners series, but I actually think it’s an issue worthy of its own post.

If you are going to go on a run that constitutes a long run for you, trim your toenails. I learned this lesson the hard way and I rather wish I hadn’t. As you run, your toes & toenails rub and bash against the insides of your shoes. Also, as I’ve mentioned quite a few times already, your feet may swell, increasing the amount of rubbing and bashing that your toenails are doing.

I don’t tend to notice the pain during my run. It’s always afterwards that I realize my toenails were too long. For several days after a long run with too-long toenails, my toes will be tender and sore. The slightest rub against shoes, socks or slippers can by oddly painful. I dislike wearing open toed shoes, though I suppose they would help considerably on those days when my toes are sore, so that may be a good option for you.

If you’re prone to ingrown toenails, be cautious as you trim them, so as not to cause yourself even worse problems. Otherwise, trim them as short as you reasonably can. Over time, you should find the happy medium that works for you.

I’ll be running in the Sweathouse Half Marathon tomorrow and am really looking forward to it. I don’t have a time goal for the race. My goal is to have fun and run happy. I’m not sure if I’ll have time to blog after the race tomorrow, as I have plans for the late afternoon & evening, so check back for my race report on Sunday.

Happy running!

Leave a Reply

