Some Weeks are Tougher than Others…

And sometimes those weeks drag on. I have been running, but not as often or as far as I would like. And I didn’t realize I hadn’t blogged in so long.

I’ve been training for a short, but challenging race that takes place tomorrow, but I haven’t even done as much of that as I would like. It’s going to be hard. I know I can do it, though. I’ll just be slow.

I’ve done most of my attempts at running up the hill at intervals of 15 seconds run & 30 seconds walk. It’s hard but doable. A couple of weeks ago, I tried 20 seconds run and that turned out to be too much. It strained my knees and I had to take a break. I really wanted to be able to work myself up to even splits but I don’t think that’s going to happen. I like even splits because that way if I need an extra walk break I don’t have to mess with my timer. I suppose I could just program my timer for 15 and 15 and always walk for two. Not sure why I didn’t think of that until just now, but I think it might work out perfectly.

I’ve also had some trouble finding folks who want to run as far as I do on the weekend, at least at something in the neighborhood of my pace. I still prefer running with others, particularly for longer runs. And this week, because of the race tomorrow, my long run will hopefully be Tuesday.  I have the day off to vote so I plan to run to my polling place, vote and then take a nice tour of the neighborhood over by my poling place. It’s a pretty area. The exact distance I choose will depend on how I feel after running up that hill tomorrow, but I hope to do at least 10 miles.

This last weekend we had our first meeting for the upcoming Galloway Marathon Training Class. I am hoping to be a pace group leader, so I went to the meeting and found myself getting very excited about getting back into marathon training mode. I had such a great experience last year and I hope I can help someone else have that same great experience this year.

I still have a few more ideas for Tips for New Runners posts, so I will try to get those up soon and post more regularly again. Happy Running!

 

Leave a Reply

