Trying to hit the Re-set Button

I haven’t been blogging. I haven’t been logging my activity at Fitocracy. I’ve been neck-deep in a feeling of failure, when it comes to running. It’s not that I’ve stopped running. It’s just that I haven’t been running often enough or far enough. I realize that it’s silly to feel like I failed at running, but I wasn’t coming anywhere near my goals for my weekly mileage totals or my long run distance.

It all started with training for the Sentinel Hill Climb. I didn’t find out about the race far enough in advance to really train well for it, and the race was a bit advanced for me. I only actually managed to run the entire race course once before the race. So while I knew I could do it, I wasn’t really trained up for it. I did run up the M trail (the first part of the race course) quite a few times before the race, and it is really the most difficult part (at least on the route I took), so at least I did that.

The thing is, during the period of training I developed quite a large knot in the front of my right thigh. It took me a while to even realize what was going on, and I didn’t notice it until after it had started to throw off my gait quite a bit. I’ve had some very weird hip soreness, as well as strange soreness in my ankles. Once I realized what was going on, I started using my foam roller once or twice per day.  It took over a week after the race to finally get the knot to release, and now the soreness in my hips and ankles is nearly gone. Things are getting back to normal.

I’m also having an issue with feeling really busy. I’m a hermit-type. I need a lot of down time. I had been thinking that once the summer was over, things would calm down again and I’d have more time, but that hasn’t happened. If anything, I’ve been more busy the last couple of months. So, mentally, that’s been interfering with my motivation to run and to really do much of anything.

I want to hit the running re-set button.  It’s time to start training for the Snow Joke Half Marathon. I’m going to work on getting back into my best habits of running at least three times per week and trying to get in a total of at least 20 miles for the week. That will be easier some weeks than others, of course. But those are my goals.

I also have a short race coming up on Thursday morning. The Turkey Day 8K will be a great way to start celebrating Thanksgiving Day with my running buddies and my running community, for whom I am especially thankful.

I imagine it’s not uncommon for folks to feel like they’re failing at their running, and to need to hit the re-set button. How have you done it?  Sign up for a new race to get motivated? Make up a formal training plan with some new goals? What else?

That’s it for now. I’m still here and I’m still running. I’ve just been going through a rough patch is all.

Happy running!

6 thoughts on “Trying to hit the Re-set Button

  1. Happy Thanksgiving. We all get into these types of funks or ruts from time to time. I actually was in one for the last year and finally working out of it. It sounds like you have a few goals to keep you focused and on task. Just hang in there and do what you know you need to do.

  2. I’m just now reading your post and sure hope your Thanksgiving Day run went well. Maybe that will get you out of your rut and get the running juices flowing again! Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

