Boston

Like many runners, especially marathoners, I’ve been thinking about the events in Boston a lot. My first reaction was to worry about people I know who were at the race. Then I started to worry about the other local runners that I don’t know, but have seen here and there. Then I started to wonder why the heck somebody would target a marathon. Now I can’t stop thinking about all the people who didn’t get to finish the race. They worked so hard, only to find themselves stopped at mile 25, not really knowing what was going on; unable to contact their family and friends; unable to finish what would have been the race of a lifetime for many.

Reading through the various articles and social media posts from fellow runners, the big theme seems to be Keep Running. Go for a run tonight. Register for an upcoming race. Find a marathon to train for and run it. Run Boston next year if you can. Just. keep. running. 

Many people have spoken far more eloquently than I can on the strength and resilience of runners, and about our passion and the peace that we find on the road. It’s true. For me, running keeps me sane. I don’t think I talk much about my anxiety here on the blog, but it’s a part of my life. Running controls it better than anything. It keeps my moods even and my mind clear. I recently had to take a week off to heal from something unrelated and by the end of that week I was a grouchy mess and starting to feel anxious again. I won’t give up running. I need it. I’m going running with my buddies tonight. Thursday I will probably run on my own. Sunday I’ll be doing an 18 mile training run with my class. And from there I’ll keep right on training. I’ll run my second marathon in July, and I have another goal race I plan to run in October. I’ll find other races in between and after. I have to.

Whatever your reasons are, just keep running.

 

Leave a Reply

