Running While Nerdy

Spring time in Montana can be a challenging time of year when it comes to figuring out what to wear for a morning run. As I got ready this morning it was chilly and windy with impressive gray clouds in the sky. I couldn’t be sure whether it would rain or not. I found myself wishing for one piece of running gear that I just don’t have: a jacket with removable sleeves. Since I warm up pretty dramatically on a run, a jacket with removable sleeves would be perfect on a day like this.

Then I had a stroke of genius. I could wear my Star Trek cycling jersey with my black arm sleeves and it would be just like having a jacket with removable sleeves! So I threw on a singlet, zipped up my Star Trek jersey, rolled on my sleeves and off I went.

You’d be surprised how many nerds there are in the running community. I know the stereotype suggests otherwise, but there are quite a few nerds who run, cycle or otherwise work out. Think Geek sells nerdy cycle jerseys now (I wish they’d get running shirts too!) and Fitocracy is like a big RPG only instead of a character or toon, you’re actually running around earning points, doing quests and leveling up your real self!

Possibly the nerdiest running selfie ever taken.

Possibly the nerdiest running selfie ever taken.

Just to give you some idea of my level of nerdiness, you can see a bit of it here in this photo. Here I am wearing my Star Trek jersey (which was a gift, btw. Thank you James!). Behind me you’ll see a giant photo mosaic of Yoda made from tiny pictures from the original Star Wars trilogy. Below that you’ll see my Firefly DVD set and some of my Buffy DVD set. I also have Angel, Serenity, The Avengers, Doctor Horrible, the extended edition of all three Lord of the Rings and quite a few other things. I have all of Red Dwarf on VHS for goodness sake. I also read a lot of nerdy books and am a huge fan of Neil deGrasse Tyson among other things, but if I start listing off all of the things I love, we’ll be here until next year.

The thing about being a nerd is that we love things. We don’t all love the same things. Some of us love Star Trek or Star Wars (or both) or Buffy or the works of Isaac Asimov or Robert Heinlein. The list goes on. Whatever it is that we love, we love it passionately and deeply. In this video, Wil Wheton (yes, Wesley Crusher from Star Trek the Next Generation) explains why it is awesome to be a nerd and he explains it much better than I ever could. Give it a watch. It’s short.

So here I am, a runner and a nerd, and I love who I am. But I noticed something today that got me a little bit down at first. While I was out today there were some folks who looked at my jersey and then scowled at me. Some people still think nerds and trekkies are bad. What’s up with that? But each time that happened, I’d run or walk past someone else who would see my jersey and light up and smile. So I realized something. Wearing my jersey out in public today made it really easy to sort out my fellow nerds and and other nice people from the jerks. Why people would judge me and scowl at me for showing my love for something is just beyond me. But some folks did.

Now that I know that wearing nerd gear helps sort out the nice people from the jerks. I think I’ll wear my nerd gear more often!

So if you’re out there and you see folks in their Star Trek gear or wearing an Avengers t-shirt or whatever it is, smile at them. Even if you’re not a nerd yourself. Don’t give them a dirty look because they’re showing their love of something. That’s a jerk move.

I have one more Sunday recovery run before my next long run, which is planned to be 27 miles. That will be the farthest I’ve run yet, and I’m a little intimidated. Check back after June 3rd to see how it went.

Keep running happy nerdy!

Here's my jersey with the sleeves that you couldn't see in the Selfie. They did not come with the Jersey, but I think they go well!

Here’s my jersey with the sleeves that you couldn’t see in the Selfie. They did not come with the Jersey, but I think they go well!

One thought on “Running While Nerdy

Leave a Reply

