Going the Extra Mile and Then a Few More

I did it.

On Sunday (6/23) I went out for my last long run before the marathon. I ran 26.2 with my running group, then did a quick two mile loop around downtown Missoula, stopped at The Runner’s Edge for a quick snack and visit, and ran the two miles home for a total of 30 miles.

It wasn’t my best run ever. I hadn’t slept well the night before and I went wrong somewhere with my nutrition, I think, so I was feeling less than fantastic. It was a bit of a slow slog all the way through, really. I’m so glad I had my running buddies with me to keep me going for the first 26.2. If I had been on my own I probably would have given up somewhere around mile 10.

One thing I will say is this: If you decide to do extra miles on a long training run like that, do them before your group run if possible. Prior to our final long run, I’d been getting my extra miles in by running to and from my running class. I think that made it a lot easier. Getting two extra miles after class and ending up at home is pretty easy, mentally. Getting four extra miles after class was mentally more difficult. Breaking it into two sections with a stop at Runner’s Edge helped, but it was still difficult.

I do feel really good about achieving my 30 mile goal, though. I tend to doubt myself a lot in life, but if I can decide to run 30 miles and actually pull it off, perhaps I can do other things that seem beyond me right now.

I’m also happy to report that other than a sore left shin, I didn’t have much stiffness or soreness afterward, which surprises me. Nor did I need to take a break in my running schedule. After waffling quite a bit because I assumed it would be hard and slow, I went out for my usual Tuesday run home and was surprised by how easy and good it felt. And the soreness in my left shin worked itself out on the run, too. Yesterday’s run (the 2nd since the 30 miler) was a little more taxing, but I think that was just because it was around 85 degrees.

Unlike this time last year, I feel much more secure about race day. I know I can run 26.2 miles because I’ve gone farther than that already twice this year. Now it’s just a matter of waiting until race day and taking good care of myself between now and then.

The Missoula Marathon is on July 14th and I’m ready.

5 thoughts on “Going the Extra Mile and Then a Few More

  1. Congrats!! You are definitely an inspiration to me! I started running (consistently) in January, moved to Missoula in May, and joined RWM a week ago. I just hit a big goal of mine this week, too, in preparation for the Missoula 5k (read here: madeformissoula.com)! Good luck in these last two weeks before you run the Marathon!

Leave a Reply

